top of page

Happy in the Valley

Hey everyone! I’m Abby Fortin. Welcome to my blog, College Town City Girl. For my first post I thought I would do a little introduction/getting to know me kind of thing. For starters, I’ll break down my username. I live in State College, Pennsylvania, the home of Penn State University-hence the “College Town”. Although I currently live in rural PA, I love the fast-paced way of life and in the future I see myself in a major city, such as NYC, pursuing a career in my dream field, Fashion and Lifestyle Journalism-the “City Girl” of College Town City Girl. As a seventeen year old living in a college town, it’s so easy to wish my life away day dreaming about college and the future ahead of me. I admire entrepreneurs and bloggers like Kiel James Patrick, We Wore What and Gal Meets Glam and one day hope to work alongside people like them. Speaking of KJP, I plan on applying for the Summer Internship program his company has, but there are thousands of people who apply so the chances of getting accepted are slim, but wish me luck anyway!!;)

I lived in New York for ten years and in Massachusetts for five years and have vacationed in Maine for my entire life, so I am very familiar with the Northeastern, nautical lifestyle that brands like KJP and Vineyard Vines embody. However, Pennsylvania is landlocked and the nearest ocean area is about four hours away. Since State College, dubbed Happy Valley, is in the middle of nowhere, there are hardly any big malls or shopping locations and the nearest metropolitan cities are Philly and Pittsburgh, each at least two hours from where I live. Living next door to cows and the Amish has its perks but I love to travel outside of the bubble that is Central Pennsylvania. Some of my favorite places to visit are New York City, Georgetown, Boston and Maine: specifically Kennebunkport (Hello, Bush compound!!!!!), Freeport and the Old Port in Portland.

As you can tell, I imagine two futures for myself that involve completely opposite lifestyles. I would be happy living a fast-paced life in New York City working for a big magazine like Cosmopolitan but I would also never turn down the opportunity to live a slower-paced, beachy lifestyle on the coast of Rhode Island or Massachusetts. No matter what I end up doing, five years from now I hope to be incorporating my love for fashion, travel and talking to people into a career that I love. That’s all for now, I hope you enjoyed my first post! Look forward to many, many more in the future. This is just the beginning :)

bottom of page