top of page

Cold Hands, Warm Hearts


This weekend Pennsylvania was lucky enough to experience a glimpse into the Spring months to come. Being almost 60 degrees on Sunday, people were encouraged to get outside, go for a hike, bike around town and I even saw one girl wearing shorts. Whether or not it’s warm enough to wear shorts isn’t my decision to make—everyone is different, but you won’t see me wearing pants above the ankle until at least March.

Sunday may have been warm and inviting, but Saturday was a bit on the chillier side. I got the chance to go up to the lake and test out the waters, or at least test out my ice skates, since it was mostly frozen over. My new favorite Anthropologie mittens came in handy, as it was quite windy and mildly chilly, despite the clear skies you’ll see in the pictures that go along with this article. If you live in a place where the winter temps drop below 40 degrees, wardrobe necessities include a good, warm pair of mittens (I suggest these from Anthro, which are currently on-sale at 60% off and come in a variety of colors!!), a weather appropriate but also comfortable and stylish jacket and a functional pair of winter boots.

My jacket, pictured below, is from J.Crew and you can find a very similar version here. If you don't already own a pair, it's never too late to invest in Bean Boots. LL Bean's classic duck boot is a fall and winter favorite as well as a staple in many people's wardrobe, both men and women. They come in colors such as blue, red, and the classic tan and there are various linings such as thinsulate, shearling and even red flannel. You can find the basic 8" in women's sizes here and in men's sizes here. Made in Maine since 1912, Bean Boots are a Northeastern necessity, but are worn by people all around the world.

 

My best friend Ben and I braved the icy tundra for some pictures that were well worth the frosty fingers and toes that followed.

If you think skating on a smooth, freshly swept ice rink is hard, try skating on a frozen lake! Despite having figure skated competitively many, many years ago, it took me a minute to figure out how to balance myself on two thin blades. However, once I got it down I was back to doing tricks and skating backwards across the pond.

Although the lake is just twenty minutes away from my house, it was a great day with lots of fun and adventure. Living in Central PA, or anywhere that seems far away from major attractions, can be hard at times when you feel stuck in the middle of nowhere. Instead of complaining, it’s important to make the most of it. Grab your friends, get out there, do something spontaneous, try something new and realize that the world is yours to explore.

Until next time,

xoxo Abby

bottom of page