top of page

Autumn: The Year's Last, Loveliest Smile

“Fall has always been my favorite season. The time when everything bursts with its last beauty, as nature had been saving up all year for the grand finale.”

-Lauren DeStefano

Hello, fellow fall lovers! The air is crisp, the leaves are crunchy and the cider is cold--the best time of year is upon us. In my opinion, fall is the best season for three reasons:

  1. Fall clothes are blessings to us all--think riding boots, vests, bean boots, flannels, etc.

  2. Fresh cider and fall vegetable soup are on every menu--I’m totally talking about Panera’s ‘Autumn Squash’ soup, a meal everyone deserves to have in their life.

  3. Lastly, but most importantly, ordinary things like trees come to life, becoming beautiful works of art stretched across the horizon. Stanley Horowitz once wrote, “Winter is an etching, spring a watercolor, summer an oil painting and autumn a mosaic of them all.”

Regardless of whether or not fall is your favorite season, there are plenty of opportunities to enjoy all that this time of year has to offer, like hay-rides, haunted houses, pumpkin patches, apple picking and so much more. This past weekend I took a trip to Penn State's Arboretum to check out the pumpkins that decorate it during the month of October. Golden Hour was setting in and the arboretum sparkled in a mystifying way.

As I'm sure you all know by now, no matter what season it is I love to dress up and play to the weather, so you can find me in a vest and riding boots nearly every day of autumn. Check out my most recent posts on Instagram to see what I'm wearing these days, and as always, feel free to follow along with the rest of my life on my personal account, @abbyfortin.

Vest: J.Crew; Flannel: Very old Abercrombie, bought at Plato's Closet; Necklace: KJP; Bracelet: KJP; Watch: Daniel Wellington; Boots: Frye from last season (sold out on 6pm.com)

Hope you all enjoyed this quick tribute to fall and a little look into how I like to spend my autumn days!

Xoxo,

Abby

© 2023 by Salt & Pepper. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page